Skip to main content

Teachers: Curriculum resources for your classroom

Guide to teacher resources available through RILINK

Online curriculum resources

Exploring Nature Educational Resource is RILINK’s newest member benefit. You can use it from school without the need to log in. This online science resource offers elementary, middle, or high school level science lesson plans, class activities, and research projects with 5,000 pages of illustrated life science, earth science, physical science, biology, anatomy and ecology for grades K-12.  Check out the Main Index and scroll down the page to see what's available.  Join their email list to keep informed of the new information added to the site each month.  View a 2-minute introduction to this resource.

 

Sample page:  Biomes (K-8)   

Sample page:  Animal Anatomy  

Exploring Nature is available for all students and teachers in RILINK member schools through IP authentication and from home using a username and password provided by the librarian.

CultureGrams exclusive online features include video clips and slideshows, a worldwide photo gallery, interviews with adults and children, and a unique recipe collection with five local recipes for each country. Plus, create-your-own data tables and charts help put dozens of facts into perspective.  You can use it from school without the need to log in. 

  • World Edition contains primary-source reports on 208 countries and territories—including every United Nations-member state—focusing on 25 cultural categories, including language, personal appearance, greetings, visiting, family, life cycle, and more.
  • States and Provinces Editions feature colorful, easy-to-read reports oriented to young users that describe the diversity and history of each U.S. state, the District of Columbia, and all 13 provinces of Canada. Each report includes maps, flags, and symbols, as well as sections on history, economy, geography, population, Native Americans, and recipes.
  • Kids Edition teaches upper elementary and middle school children more about the world around them. Each report contains images, historical timelines, and fun facts, along with sections on history, population, “life as a kid,” games and sports, education, and more. 

View a two minute demo of CultureGrams.

Sample page - Infographic, average person in Lithuania

Sample page - Statistical comparison of California and Rhode Island

CultureGrams is available for all students and teachers in RILINK member schools through IP authentication and from home using a username and password provided by the librarian.

When you do a Search in any of the three different Destiny interfaces, clicking on OneSearch will take you to online resources that your librarian has set up for you to use.  These online resources can be added to a Resource List that you have created if you are using the Destiny Classic interface.  The screen shots below will show you how this works in each interface - Destiny Classic, Destiny Discover, and Destiny Quest.

Destiny Classic

Click on to display the results from all of the databases, which will appear in the order they respond to your search.

Click on an individual database to display the results from that database.  In order to view the results, the Pop-up blocker in your browser must be turned off.  You can add any of the articles to one of your Resource Lists.  Make sure that the name of the Resource List that you want to add to is displayed in the box at the top right of the page. 

Click on to see the list of articles from another database in the list, or to close the list of articles from a particular database.  

Destiny Discover

Destiny Discover shows Search Results by type, and your can choose to follow a ribbon of results, or click on a particular type.  In Destiny Discover, you can choose to look at Open Educational Resources.

Destiny Quest

If you want to add your search results to a particular list, make sure that that list is displayed in the Search Results box.  In order to view the results, the Pop-up blocker in your browser must be turned off.

Databases and resources that can be added to OneSearch by your librarian.  Please note that any databases not available free online, through your library's membership in RILINK, through AskRI, or your library's individual subscription(s) cannot be added.

next topic 

Explore resources available to all Rhode Islanders at http://askri.org, including

 

Language and culture learning in over 70 languages, where you can keep track of your progress. You will need your OSL or HELIN library card number to create an account and log on.

and   You will need to create an account to log on and use the resources, which include practice tests in various subjects, grades 4-12, plus a High School Equivalency Center, A College Prep Center, a Career Center, a Center for the Spanish-speaking, an Adult Learning Center, and a College Center.

More on the next tab 

WorldBook resources are available to all Rhode Islanders through AskRI.orgStudents and teachers can create a personal account or use an existing WorldBook Research account to check out eBooks, and add bookmarks, highlights, and notes that are saved to their account.

What do you do if I can't get to WorldBook resources without getting asked to log in?  The state of Rhode Island’s World Book Online subscription is Geo-Authenticated.  If you are being prompted for login it appears your ISP is ‘outside’ of the state of Rhode Island.  If you can't get to WorldBook resources from home or school, in Rhode Island, the URL below will use your browser's GPS to allow AskRI to verify that you are in the state of Rhode Island and will automatically authenticate your access.

http://www.worldbookonline.com/wb/locate?subacct=00M7105

More on the next tab 

Click on the logo to see all of the EBSCO databases available to Rhode Islanders through 

 

 

 

next topic 

Using your school library's Destiny Discover interface, you have access to open educational resources (OER).  Follett is partnering with the U.S. through their #GoOpen initiative to support access to Learning Registry open education resources (OER). Find Destiny Discover on the Catalog tab in the left-hand column, or get to this interface by going to gofollett.com.  PIck Rhode Island from the pop-up list in the Location box, and then start typing the name of your school in the School box, so that you can select it from the list that pops up.  Once you have chosen your school, click on Go!  The results displayed in Destiny Discover depend on your school's specific settings.

Here are the results from the Open Educational Resources ribbon for a search on "women civil war US".  Note that you can filter the results by subject, format, year published, publisher or language.

 

Here is the entry for the first item in the list:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

‚ÄčHere is what this resource looks like:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Open Data Sets & Resources

See a 2 1/2 minute video introduction

If your library has a subscription, WebPath Express gives you instant access to thousands of relevant, grade-appropriate Internet sites with just one Catalog search. You can also search WebPath Express directly, by clicking on it in the left-hand column on the Catalog tab.  You can look for web sources in several ways: searching, browsing, or clicking through the Visual Search picture icons. Using any of these methods, view or print the lists of websites and library materials for your subject.  You can also narrow search results using filters. See WebPath Express™ Filters in Universal Search. You can also add chosen web sites to a Resource List you have created, if you are logged on to Destiny.  Make sure that the list that you want to add to is the one highlighted in the box: 

 

Destiny also includes websites in search results for searches performed in Library Search—Basic, Power, and Visual—and in Destiny Quest—Basic, Advanced, and Visual.  If your search results lists are very long, you can apply any of several filters to narrow the list by format, grade level, type of source material, domain type, language or related topics. 

You can make suggestions for added WebPath Express entries on the upper right-hand corner of the Spotlight page, if your school's Teacher Access Level is set to allow this.

next topic 

If your school library has subscriptions to Gale databases, these can easily be integrated with Google Apps for Education.  Your school may have one or more of these Gale databases available and may also have eBook titles from the 

Loading ...