Can eBooks help meet your curriculum needs for informational texts that match and develop the abilities of your students ? Here are some resources that your school district may already have!
Want to share these resources with your teachers? Here is our tri-fold eBooks flyer.
BookLynx is named for the eBooks in our collection and the constellation Lynx (the cat). BookLynx brings books to students, teachers and parents at 160 RILINK member schools. Log on to your school library and click on the FollettShelf icon in the catalog tab. If you don't have a FollettShelf icon, contact Dorothy Frechette (email@example.com; 573-0927). BookLynx features RI Children’s, Hispanic and Young Adult award books, elementary science titles, and books recommended by you !
Find out more about BookLynx.
Read eBooks in World Book’s customized online viewer. World Book’s eBook collection includes highly illustrated, engaging titles that support a span of curriculum areas and reading levels, with unlimited simultaneous access to all of the books in the collection. This subscription is available to all Rhode Islanders throughYour tax dollars at work !
Students and teachers can create a personal account or use an existing WorldBook Research account to check out eBooks, and add bookmarks, highlights, and notes that are saved to their account.
Subscribers using a supported tablet device may download the World Book eBook app for offline viewing for free from Google Play (Android devices) and iTunes (iPads).
World Book eBook FAQs Note: The FAQ includes instruction for downloading MARC records to add to your Destiny site. We recommend that you create a separate Material Type for World Book eBooks, so that these records can be easily deleted in the future if this service is no longer available through AskRI. We also recommend using the Upload Titles function to assign these eBooks to this Material Type, and to add a barcode number to each of the World Book eBooks so that the catalog indicates that there is a copy of the title in your collection.
AskRI also includes research resources from EBSCO, such as their History and Literary Reference Centers.
These are all optional purchases or subscriptions:
Gale - eReference aimed at students, researchers, professionals, and general readers through an online virtual library
eLibrary provides full-text and multimedia reference essentials for middle/high school students
Tumblebooks - interactive, animated, audio and video collections designed for audiences K through high school
Infobase - online information and streaming video with