Skip to main content

Professional Learning

Follett Related Sessions

Follett logoDestiny Library Manager is the interface used for RICAT, RILINK's shared online catalog. Far more than just a way to look up or check out a library book, RICAT provides students and teachers with access to interlibrary loan, eBooks, resource lists, juried websites, databases, Open Educational Resources, and much more.  RICAT provides the means to collaborate on shared online Collections by Destiny® of resource materials in a wide variety of formats for easy access in school or from home using computers or mobile devices.

Learn more about the tools available to librarians when logged in as the administrator.  Sessions are restricted to school librarians.

Possible Topics: Apps, Destiny Back Office, BookLynx & eBooks and Audiobooks, Collaboration Tools, Destiny Discover, One Search, Remote Access, Reports, Resource Lists, Widgets, & more ... 

Follett promotes Destiny Discover as the main user interface for all patrons, especially students. All updates to functionality related to the patron experience are taking place in Destiny Discover

The Follett Community website highlights the following features as reasons to promote Destiny Discover with your patrons.

The eBook and audio book session focuses mainly on the Follett titles offered through BookLynx.  Topics range from how to find, access, and read/listen to an eBook or audio book to how to administer your BookLynx collection.  Complete details are available on the eBook and Audiobooks Essentials page on the RILINK website.

Collections by Destiny® provides students and teachers a way to collaborate with one another, their school, or all RICAT members. Collections may be Private or Public. Resources such as web pages, documents, books, eBooks, videos, and images can be saved in Collections. Learn more about this dynamic curation tool on the Follett website. Watch a video! Try it out!

undefinedInterlibrary Loan Training is available for librarians at schools that currently have LORI certification. A school librarian may request a full training or a review. The training will be tailored to the needs of the requesting librarian.  Questions about ILL training should be sent to Karen Shore.

Member Benefit Sessions

RILINK member librarians may request a RILINK Schools site for their school libraries.  Created on Springshare's LibGuides CMS platform, these sites provide the perfect way to communicate and collaborate with the school community.  RILINK staff currently offers online sessions during the school year and will provide onsite sessions at the request of the district or a group of member librarians*.

Workshops will be designed based on the makeup and needs of the school librarians and their teacher collaborators.

Possible Topics: Introduction to LibGuides CMS ( includes Creating a Profile, Adding & Editing Different Types of Content, Creating Pages, etc.); Advanced Style Options; Asset & Image Management; Databases; Statistics; Widgets; & more

*These sessions will be delivered to library staff only

RILINK recently added LibWizard as a member benefit.  Once known as LibSurveys, this tool now includes Quizzes and Tutorials & Assessments in addition to Forms and Surveys.  RILINK member librarians who currently have LibGuides accounts also have access to LibWizard. 

RILINK staff will offer online sessions during the school year and will provide onsite sessions at the request of the district or a group of member librarians*.

Workshops will be designed based on the makeup and needs of the session participants.

*These sessions will be delivered to library staff only

​CultureGrams is available for all students and teachers in school through IP authentication and from home using a username and password provided by the librarian. Workshops for CultureGrams explore the site and illustrate how the site might be used across the curriculum. 

Exploring Nature Science Education Resource is RILINK’s newest member benefit. This online science resource offers elementary, middle, and high school level science resources including lesson plans, class activities, and research projects among the site’s 5,000 pages of illustrated life science, earth science, physical science, biology, anatomy and ecology for K-12.  

Exploring Nature is available for all students and teachers in school through IP authentication and from home using a username and password provided by the librarian. Workshops for Exploring Nature will include exploration of the site and illustrations of how the site might be used.

Here is a poster that you can use to promote Exploring Nature at your school.