Skip to main content

RILINK Schools Spring Cleaning

Overview of Deleting Content

Content may be deleted at the four levels: TypeBoxPage,  and Guide

  • Caution should be observed when deleting BoxesPages and GuidesThey cannot be recovered.
  • Content Types, with the exception of Rich Text, remain in Assets. Mapped Content Types are only removed if deleted from Assets. 

Remember- before deleting a Box or Page consider a draft option instead. For a Guide consider status options such as Private or Unpublished.  CAUTION: Never use Unpublished as the status for the Main Site Guide.  Please also review "Help! I deleted a guide or page! Can it be recovered?" in Springshare Help.

To delete an individual Content Type

1. Click on the Edit Icon next to the content you wish to delete.

 

2. Read the information in the new window. Confirm you wish to delete the content from the Box.

 

 

3. Remember- deleted Content Types with the exception of Rich Text will still be listed in Assets.

To delete a Box

1. Click on the X in the upper right hand corner. 

2. This warning will appear.

 

3. If the box contains mapped content, the warning will look like this.

4. If you are sure you want to delete the Box, select the box next to " I understand this action cannot be undone" and Click Delete.

5. The Box is now gone, but the Content Types in the Box remain in Assets.

To delete a Page 

1. Click on the Page cog. Select "Delete this Page" from the menu.

2. This warning will appear if the Page is Mapped.

3. If you are sure you want to delete the Page, select the box next to " I understand this action cannot be undone" and click Delete. REMEMBER: the Mapped Pages will be deleted from all the sites listed.

Review this page of Springshare Help "Help! I deleted a guide or page! Can it be recovered?" before deleting a Guide. Make sure you are absolutely positive you no longer need/want the content. 

We recommend deleting Guides only while in the Guide Edit view. This way the content you are deleting is right in front of you and not just a name on a list.

1. Click on the Guide Information cog to open the menu.

2. Select Delete Guide.

3. As with Content Types, Boxes, and Pages, this warning will appear.

4. If you are sure you want to delete the Guide, select the box next to  "I understand this action cannot be undone" and click DeleteREMEMBER: the Mapped content will be deleted from all the sites listed.