The RILINK ARIA Collection is a selection of fiction and nonfiction titles for all grade levels by authors with Rhode Island connections. Authors who are members of ARIA (The Association of Rhode Island Authors) have donated titles to this collection. RILINK thanks them for their generosity!
Students, teachers, and faculty at RILINK member schools who have access to interlibrary loan may borrow any title in the ARIA Collection (subject to availability). Please see your school librarian for more information.
To preview the titles in the ARIA Collection, please visit the Explore the Collection box below.
The ARIA Collection will be hosted on an annual rotating basis at RILINK member libraries. Narragansett High School is currently hosting the collection.
If your library is part of the RILINK Consortium and you would be willing to commit to a one-year hosting schedule, please contact RILINK at info@rilink.org for more information. Thank you!
RILINK is grateful for the
generous donations
that ARIA authors have made to this diverse Collection!
Titles in the Collection are organized by interest level in the tabs above. To view a sortable, printable list, please visit this link.
'Post' Mark : Santa's Misfit Postman by
INTEREST LEVEL: K-3
For generations Santa has always had a place at the North Pole for misfits. His Postman 'Post' Mark is no exception. This timeless Christmas story explains how Mark grew up a misfit, and takes kids for a journey around the world until Mark finds a place to "fit in" at the North Pole working for Santa as the North Pole Postman.
Tyler's Tall Tales by
INTEREST LEVEL: K-3
Meet Tyler and Freckles and help them on their first adventure to catch the moon!
Old Salty Dog by
INTEREST LEVEL: K-3
A New England quahogger encounters mythical sea monsters in his quest for clams.
The Winning Team by
INTEREST LEVEL: K-3
The Winning Team is a little book about the giant value of teamwork, sportsmanship, and a positive attitude. The story follows The Red Hawks, a team struggling to keep up with the competition. But with a little help from their coach and a lot of encouragement from one another, they learn winning is about more than the game's score. Written for ages 3 to 7, but intended for children of all ages.
Tuggie the Patriot Pup : the War of 1812 by
INTEREST LEVEL: K-3
Tuggie witnesses the War of 1812 and meets a Yorkie in Paris named Demitasse.
Sunny by
Sunny was written to help young foster children explore and understand their own emotions, as well as expand awareness of foster families to all its readers. It's the story of Mandy, a foster child, who is given a puppy. Struggling with her own emotions of loss and belonging, she tries to return the puppy to its mother, only to discover with the help of her kindly neighbor, Mr. Johnson, that sometimes puppies, just like people, can find love, care, and belonging with a foster parent. At the end of the book, there are questions and answers to facilitate discussion about foster care, as well as contact information for the National Foster Parent AssociationFor each book purchased, $1 will be donated to the National Foster Parent Association.For further information contact the author's website: www.tamstales.net
Searching for Rhode Island by
A Fun and Educational Word Search Book for the Whole Family! Many consider Rhode Island to be a very small place. So it is surprising to learn how many great and wonderful things have come from "Little Rhody."From Slater Mill to the Touro Synagogue; from H.P Lovecraft to Pauly D; from Block Island to the Roger Williams Park Zoo, there are many wondrous and unique people, places and things that are proud to call Rhode Island home.So from the shores of Prudence Island to the peaks of Jerimoth Hill, have fun : "Searching for Rhode Island!"
David's War/ David's Peace by
from Amazon- "David's War/David's Peace is a children's chapter picture book with two stories in one about conflict and peacemaking. In Book One David befriends a rabbit who takes him to his meadow home and tells him of the invasion of woodchucks. David devises a war plan to get rid of the woodchucks, but as with most wars, it results in tragedy.
In Book Two, David chooses a different course of action when he learns of the conflict. He acts as mediator to resolve the problem peacefully, and brings harmony to the meadow."
America: an Album: 80 Poems of our history from Godey's Lady's Book by
Nineteenth century Americans loved poetry. They wrote it, read it, memorized it. They understood it as a means of communicating and recording ideas, events, and emotions. The popular press, from daily newspapers to literary periodicals, printed poetry alongside other material. While in the early part of the 19th century much of this poetry was copied from British publications, there was at the same time an effort to encourage American authorship on American themes. Sarah Josepha Hale, editor of first the Boston-based Ladies' Magazine and later Godey's Lady's Book, believed strongly that Americans should have access to work by American writers. She also strove to assure that her magazines had a message, that they demonstrated and taught American unity, patriotism, simplicity, and virtue. This volume contains poems that were published in Godey's or in the Ladies' Magazine from 1828 to 1877, a full half-century of American history. There are poems about Native Americans, slavery, temperance, westward migration, urban poverty, the Civil War, and more. To the writers and to 19th century readers, these were poems of current events. To us, they are glimpses into the past, a chance to see events from our history as they were seen by some of the Americans who lived them. Some of the poems are stronger as literary pieces than others; some are merely song lyrics. All, however, tell us something about our past, and allow us to share in the experience of Americans of an earlier time, even if only from a distance.
To the Sea: Thirty-two poems from Godfey's Lady's Book by
The nineteenth century was still the age of sail; ships not only crossed the globe but also served much of the country's population by transporting a wide variety of commercial goods and passengers. Port cities (large and small) along the east coast carried on lively domestic and foreign trade, and much of the nation's population lived near the coasts. The sea provided a livelihood for many, but for passengers and crew alike death at sea was a real possibility; in some areas coastal residents occasionally found bodies of unknown men and women washed up on shore. Saying goodbye to a loved one at the start of a voyage came with the recognition that the voyager might not return. Still, the sea could cast a spell of beauty and fascination. It was natural to express one's relationship with the ocean in poetry; the sea was, and still is, a powerful and awe inspiring force of nature. Godey's Lady's Book, begun in 1830 and edited after 1836 by Sarah Josepha Hale, was one of the most popular magazines in nineteenth century America reaching every state and territory. Reading its poetry, authored by both amateurs and professionals, allows us to share in the emotional and intellectual experiences of these Americans in a unique way. This volume contains thirty two poems about the sea and its role in nineteenth century life. Nineteen are from Godey's and five are from Hale's earlier publication, the Ladies' Magazine (1829-1836). "To the Sea" comes to us from poets who lived in an era very different from our own. It is, in some ways, social history through poetry.
Monumental Providence: Monumental Providence : legends of history in sculpture, statuary, monuments and memorials by
Public statuary as we think of it, according to the Rhode Island Historical Preservation and Heritage Commission's 1999 publication, Outdoor Sculpture of Rhode Island, first appeared in this state in the mid-1800s inspired by a European idiom. Greco-Roman in origin, these masterpieces flourished and the resulting statues, monuments and memorials that are now scattered throughout the City of Providence stand as a testament to the people, places and events that have had a profound impact on the shaping of the history of Rhode Island's capital city.
Living Things by
Kelly's last year of high school may be her last altogether as inanimate objects suddenly take a dislike to her.
My Sister's Wedding by
Fifteen-year-old Maddie's life has been hijacked by the many alcoholics in her world, despite the numerous self-help books she devours. After her older sister's humiliating turn as the drunk bride, Maddie becomes determined to stop "enabling" and start "living". But as she begins a quest for self-understanding, things take an unexpected turn when near-tragedy strikes.
My Summer Vacation by
Sixteen-year-old Maddie Hickman is desperately seeking solace from her sophomore year of high school, a year of broken hearts, torn friendships, and family secrets revealed. Thanks to a position as a CIT (counselor-in-training) at Caleb's Rock, a hippy, artsy-fartsy summer camp, as her mother calls it, solace has been found-or so she thinks. Maddie begins her summer at the pub shop writing short stories and poems, trying to recover from a terrible breakup with her first love and her family's struggle with her alcoholic sister. To maintain inner peace, Maddie swears off cute boys. Although working alongside Noah, a fellow pub shop CIT, whose hot, nerd-boy looks and ability to quote Shakespeare at just the right moment makes her swoon. Maddie decides a friendship with camper Zak is safe enough and can help her avoid the temptation of Noah, since Zak isn't as cute and is a year younger. But when Zak asks her for kissing lessons so he can make the move on another girl, Maddie finds herself wondering if she should have sworn off not-so-cute boys, too.
Run with Me: a run in the woods can change a life by
Six weeks. Six long weeks in the remote woods of Montana with no human contact besides my brainiac archaeologist parents and their team of assorted nerds. I'll be cut off from everything - my friends, the track team, every social event imaginable. Why don't they just stuff me into a pod and launch me into outer space? How will I, Olivia Bradford, age seventeen, ever survive this summer?~ * ~ Changes. Ones I do not welcome. Ones I cannot ignore. My life had been so simple among my hidden tribe in our quiet village. Now everything is different, uncertain, unknown. Each day brings something else I did not expect. Ninae, my grandmother, says I must accept the changes and protect our tribe, but I am no one special. How will I, Jobah Everleaf, seventeen winters old, ever find my purpose?~ * ~A run in the woods might give them both answers. It might also raise more questions.
Bittersweet Manor by
After a four-month estrangement from her family, thirty-two-year-old Emma Michaels visits The Harbor View Assisted Living Home to tell her grandmother, Gussie, that she has made a decision: she's going to sell the family property--her inheritance. Sitting on the dock of Poquatuck Village, Connecticut, looking across the harbor to their family's longtime home, the two women debate over Emma's choice--and their conversation lays the framework for the book, which flows over the decades, all the way back to Gussie's youth and marriage, then forward through the lives of her three children, Auggie, Livy, and Alyssa, whose hopes and talents are warped by their mother's influence and disappointed expectations. Expectations passed down through the generations. Subtle. Unspoken. Implacable. As Emma and Gussie remember the choices and dynamics that have produced the complicated tapestry that is their family's history, Emma makes a number of surprising discoveries about her loved ones--and herself--and she prepares to do what no one else in her family has dared: let go of the past to make room for the future, though doing so will destroy the thing her grandmother holds most dear.
Gridiron Conspiracy by
INTEREST LEVEL: YA
Gridiron Conspiracy delves into the world of sports-related drama with everyday aspects of suspense, thrilling action, and science fiction. Protagonist Chris Strong relentlessly pursues his dream to become a professional football player while finding out the world he thought was real is nothing more than a smoke screen. Find out how Chris and company go up against a corporate giant in order to find the truth, but yet find the truth is not what they thought it would be.
Angelique and the Green Planet by
Lucidus, King of Light asks a star being named Angelique to help teach the beings of the green planet, a planet in a galaxy far away from her sky, to be at peace. As Lucidus speaks to Angelique she watches in awe as each exhale gives birth to a new star. Angelique promises to help this beautiful being but is unsure how she will accomplish such a mission. When she arrives at the green planet she meets with some of its inhabitants - the birds, the trees, the waters, the flowers and a boy who dances like the sun. They all lead her in the direction of the humans, those who have destroyed peace on the planet. When Angelique meets the humans she is dismayed as they are the only beings that are unable to see her or hear her. How can she help the humans if they do not know she exists? Will she be able to keep her promise to Lucidus? Doubtful and afraid, Angelique retreats to a beautiful forest where she falls asleep and is given an inspired message in her dream. Does the message in the dream compel her to complete her mission and help the humans realize peace?
Song of the Spirit by
In the late 1800s, post-Civil War, two young Cheyenne sisters are wrenched from a loving family, kidnapped and incarcerated at Rose Academy, a harsh, Indian boarding school established to assimilate native young people, teach them English, and eradicate their knowledge of traditional ways, considered inferior to the ways of the Washita (whites). Forbidden to speak their native language, the sisters are whipped and punished, however, the school harsh life fails break their spirit. The eldest, Wind Flower, on the cusp of womanhood, excels academically, while continually planning their escape. Time and again she is hunted down and forcibly returned to Rose Academy. There, she watches her beloved little sister's alarming transformation into a proper Washita girl. At the same time, Wind Flower finds love, with a young Sioux, renamed Caleb Green, by his captors. A fast-paced, breathtaking tale of courage and romance, Song of the Spirit's unforgettable characters intersect with historical events of the day, including the devastation of the Wound Knee massacre. Will these three courageous young people find freedom, or lose themselves and their way of life to the relentless cruelty of the Washita world?
The Red Racecar by
Jimmy Pearson and his best friend Danny Houle have just graduated from high school as thisyoung-adult novel begins. Neither has a clue about what's next in their lives until Jimmy Pearsonspots a bright-red midget racecar for sale at an auto-repair shop in town. Jimmy hasn't laid eyeson a racecar in years, but his dad once was one of the best dirt-track racers around before he losthis life in a racing accident. Jimmy immediately decides that the car is the ticket to a summer ofadventure if he and Danny can come up with the money to buy it from its desperately-brokeowners.But how will his mom feel about his racing in view of the death of his dad? And does he knowenough about going fast to compete with the current class of competitors already in the midst oftheir racing season?
The possession : Book 1 Secret Journals by
How do you protect yourself from something that isn't really there? Seventeen-year-old (almost) Daphne and her Micmac friend Zach must deal not only with town trouble-makers but also the lighthouse ghost.
The Overlords : Journey to Salvation by
INTEREST LEVEL: YA
Journey to Salvation, the thrilling third book in The Overlord series, finds our hero, Harrison Cross, and his fellow adventurers returning to the young warrior's hometown of Aegeus with the coveted Treasure of the Land as well as the recently discovered Talisman of Unification. The latter treasure instructs them to embark on the most noble of quests: reunite humanity under one rulership. Harrison's righteous upbringing is perfectly suited for the task, save for one thing: he must overthrow his nemesis, the ruthless Governor of Concur, Lord Nigel Hammer. Garnering the support of the neighboring coastal villages and towns, as well as Aegeus' formidable allies, Argos and Arcadia, Harrison embarks on his noble quest. Adhering to the instructions of the Ancient Four Kings, the land's original Overlords, the young warrior finds he cannot shake one nagging thought: Can he win this battle?
The Overlords: Legend of the Treasure by
Harrison Cross wishes nothing more than to help his hometown of Aegeus secure the land's most sacred treasure, the bounty of the ancient Overlords known simply as the Treasure of the Land.The original Overlords vanished on one infamous day over 1,000 years ago leaving behind clues to their hidden treasure in the form of indestructible metallic plates and a map revealing a series of secret rooms.During their journey, Harrison and his friends face countless foes on their way to the sacred Seven Rooms, including the evil Scynthians who want nothing more than to eradicate the human race, and the ruthless and treasure-seeking Lord Nigel Hammer, governor of Concur and his large menacing army.Using the clues discovered along the way, the group must successfully navigate through the hidden mysteries of the sacred Seven Rooms in order to secure the land's most elusive prize. Only then will their journey be a success. The question is, will they succeed?
The Overlords : The Talisman of Unification by
INTEREST LEVEL: YA
With the discovery of the Treasure of the Land behind them, Harrison Cross and his adventurer friends find an ancient, leather-bound manuscript mixed in with their newfound bounty. But, after deciphering the scripture's cryptic code they realize the book contains clues to a grander treasure, the Talisman of Unification. The righteous warriors are instructed to traverse the land in search of jewels, artifacts, and the blood of a wicked red dragon, all pieces to a greater whole, in order to fulfill their destiny as the land's new Overlords.Unbeknownst to our heroes, the evil King Holleris sensed the removal of the ancient scripture from its resting place and has sent out his minions to bring the book back to him. With a ransom of 10,000 gold pieces for its safe return, the king has more than enough suitors. To make matters worse, Harrison and his friends find a disturbing trend throughout the land: the Scynthians are creating outposts everywhere. With the odds heavily stacked against them, Harrison and his friends follow the clues that may lead them to their ultimate destiny: rulers of the land. Will they succeed? Or will the evil king tighten his grip on the unsuspecting countryside?
Quest for Justice by
The Elementia Chronicles Trilogy is being re-released under HarperCollins with a new cover!!! Book 1 Quest for Justice will be re-released July 28th 2015 followed by Book 2 (now called) The New Order on October 27th 2015 and finally the epic conclusion in Book 3 Herobrine's Message to be released January 26th 2016. You can pre-order Books 1 and 2 today !!!! Just enter my name Sean Fay Wolfe or The Elementia Chronicles in your Amazon search and all 3 books will be there.Stan has never played Minecraft before, but from the start he loves the action of building with the infinite blocks that make up the world around him. He finds it exhilarating to battle the monsters of the night alongside his new found friends, Charlie and Kat, on the Minecraft server Elementia. Before long, however, the three discover that there is a prejudice against new players on the server, and they witness many hate crimes against new players such as themselves. It becomes clear when a sharp twist of fate puts Stan, Kat, and Charlie in direct opposition to the government of Elementia's capitol city, and it's tyrannical King. The trio finds themselves unwittingly thrust into a deadly race against the natural perils of Minecraft, the King's forces, and the mysterious and dangerous griefer Mr. A. If Stan and his friends are to survive their perilous quest, they will need to dig deep within the mines and within themselves to discover courage, strength and power that they never knew they had as they play the game through, from the beginning, to The End.
Nubiana: a true story about a very special kitty by
Nubiana is an inspirational story of how a disheveled and unwelcome cat changed the life of her unexpected new guardians, true non-lovers of cats. Along the way, this heartfelt journey offers caring people, travel and adventure, love and kindness, memories made and shared, togetherness and parting. It s a heartwarming story of a special bond and relationship that forever changed and fulfilled lives.
The Lost Villages of Scituate by
In 1915, the general assembly appointed the Providence Water Supply Board to condemn 14,800 acres of land in rural Scituate. The hardworking people of the five villages were devastated. By December 1916, notices were delivered to the villagers stating that the homes and land they had owned for generations were to be taken and destroyed. Construction was well under way by 1921, and water was being stored by November 10, 1925. On September 30, 1926, the treatment plant began operation. It now serves more than 60 percent of Rhode Islanders. The $21 million project was the largest ever undertaken in the state at the time. The dam that annihilated the villages is 3,200 feet long and 100 feet high and holds back more than 40 billion gallons of water. Today these quiet villages lie up to 87 feet beneath the cold, dark waters of the Scituate Reservoir.
The Scituate Reservoir by
In 1772, portions of Providence received water through a system of hollowed out logs. By 1869, seventeen years after Zachariah Allen campaigned for a public water supply, the public voted in favor of introducing water into the city from the Pawtuxet River in Cranston. By 1900, it was clear that more, purer water was needed. A public law was approved on April 21, 1915, creating the Providence Water Supply Board and granting the power to condemn 14,800 acres to create the Scituate Reservoir. Today the reservoir is the largest inland body of water in Rhode Island, supplying over 40 billion gallons of water to residents.
Believe in Forever: Signs of Love from Departed Loved Ones by
Have you ever felt the presence of a loved one after death? What are most people searching for after the death of a loved one? A sign to let you know you are still connected and you will see your loved one again. Love is too strong an emotion and bond to end with the death of the physical body. Our loved ones do come to comfort us and let us know they made it home safely. Many times we do not recognize the signs. As a result, many people discount the signs they receive as their imagination or an odd coincidence. Many are afraid to mention the occurrence or sign to anyone for fear of being ridiculed by family or friends. We are all born with a natural intuitive ability to recognize and communicate with our departed loved ones and yet we are taught not to trust this intuition, and over times it weakens. Our loved ones communicate with us in so many different ways, and you don't need to be a psychic to receive them. They may come to us in dreams; we may smell their cologne, see the lights dim or blink, hear the alarm or chimes ring, find a feather or coin, or the smoke detector goes off and there is no fire. With the widespread use of digital cameras in the last decade, the frequency and circumstances of orbs appearing in photographs has increased and people all over the world have become fascinated with these opaque circular features that appear in a surprising number of photographs. Orbs show up in certain strategic photographs and strategic positions within a photograph, indicating that orbs are much more than random reflection effects. Are orb Spirits of our deceased loved ones sending us a message? And are they using this particular positioning in the photographs to communicate to the family that they were indeed at the family gathering and special occasion? This book will detail the specific ways in which contact with the other side occurs and how you can awaken your own natural intuitive ability. My research is based my first hand experiences as a professional medium, intuitive life coach and digital photography of ?orbs'. I believe our departed loved ones are here to help us develop our intuitive ability to communicate with them. My intention is to show the readers how to open their minds and feel the truth resonate in their own heart as they read these true life stories. The lines of communication are still open to ask for guidance, to send or receive love; to send or ask forgiveness. It is not too late; they love you and can still hear you. Tell them you love them and feel the tremendous gift of love being sent back to you from your loved ones in Spirit. You can't fake goose bumps! Believe In Forever, I do.
Breathe; a memoir of motherhood, grief, and family conflict by
Kelly Kittel never questioned her Mayflower Society mantra--"Family is the most important thing"--until the day her fifteen-month-old son was run over by her sixteen-year-old niece. Nine months later, Kittel's doctor made a terrible mistake during her subsequent pregnancy and she found herself burying yet another baby. Caught up in the maelstrom of a malpractice lawsuit, Kittel and her husband battle not only the medical system, but their own relatives, in the courtroom. As their family tree begins to topple, the Kittels struggle to nourish the roots of their young family and find healing. Achingly raw and beautifully narrated, Breathe is a story of motherhood, death, and family in the face of unspeakable tragedy and, ultimately, how she learns to breathe again.
Your Ticket to the Universe: a guide to exploring the cosmos by
"An entertaining and accessible trip to the most interesting stops in the cosmos. Accompanied by dramatic visuals, Your Ticket to the Universe is a hybrid coffee-table book and field guide. Beginning with our home planet, Your Ticket to the Universe embarks on an entertaining and accessible trip to the most interesting stops known in the cosmos. Learn about objects nearby within our Solar System (our backyard in space, so to speak) as well as wonders that are found throughout the Milky Way galaxy and beyond (the most distant and exotic lands to explore). Accompanied by brilliant photographs that bring the reading experience to vivid, immediate life, Your Ticket to the Universe is designed to make space exploration accessible to everyone. Your Ticket to the Universe outlines the essentials anyone needs to know, while piquing the reader's curiosity to learn more."
SECRETS & SCANDALS : reforming Rhode Island 1986-2006 by
Between 1986 and 2006 Rhode Island ran a gauntlet of scandals that exposed corruption and aroused public rage. Protesters marched on the State House. Coalitions formed to fight for systemic changes. Under intense public pressure, lawmakers enacted historic laws and allowed voters to amend defects in the state's constitution. Since colonial times, the state legislature had wielded vast executive powers. Even judges remained vulnerable. No one could forget that on a single day in 1935 the General Assembly sacked the entire Supreme Court. Without constitutional checks and balances, citizens suffered under single party control. Republicans ruled during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries; Democrats held sway from the 1930s into the twenty-first century. In their eras of unchecked control, both parties became corrupt. SECRETS & SCANDALS tells the inside story of events that shook a culture of corruption and finally brought separation of powers in 2004. No single leader, no political party, no organization could have converted betrayals of public trust into historic reforms. But when citizen coalitions connected with dedicated public officials to address systemic failures, government changed. Three times--in 2002, 2008, and 2013--Chicago's Better Government Association scored state laws that promote integrity, accountability, and government transparency. Rhode Island ranked second twice and first in 2013--largely because of reforms reported in SECRETS & SCANDALS.
The Unmaking of a Conservative Africa Anything Is Possible by
This is Peter Cannon's first book. He has extensive tripartite experience in basic human rights and organizational development. His decades long cross cultural ability to deliver services professionally under varied conditions took place in Angola, Bangladesh, Botswana, Canada, Congo, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Nigeria, Norway, Philippines, South Africa, South Korea, Sudan, Swaziland, Togo, Uganda, Vietnam, Zambia and Zimbabwe. He resides with his wife Gudrun, in North Kingstown, Rhode Island.
Deception Island by
While at an archaeology dig in Afghanistan, Rachel St. Claire, an evolutionary anthropologist, comes across a pendant with strange shifting symbols. Not long after, she receives an urgent call from her colleague, Dr. Grace McAllister, who insists that she come with her and her nephew, Trevor, a handsome polar geophysicist, to Antarctica to examine an unusual body that was found in an ice cave. Before Rachel can respond, bandits sent by the ruthless Major General Braun storm the site. Just as they are about to seize Rachel, a helicopter appears with Trevor who has been sent by his Aunt to bring Rachel to Antarctica. Trevor soon falls in love with Rachel who, unfortunately, already has a fiance. Little does she know that her fiance is part of a group of bioterrorists who are engaged in secret genetic experiments in an abandoned World War II Nazi base under the Antarctic ice and who are after the pendant and Rachel.
Perception : the next generation of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice by
"A long-time lover of Jane Austen’s classics, author Dennis R. Fortier gives other dedicated readers a wonderful treat with Perception, the ongoing story of Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth Bennett’s union. Jayne, the beautiful, charming, intelligent daughter of Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy falls in love with young Jeffery Richards. Unfortunately, Richards is the son of parents in service and the irregular romance causes plenty of concern and scandal that echoes far beyond the hallowed halls of Pemberley. But in this comedy of manners and social satire, Jayne and Jeffery aren’t the only two whose life choices don’t quite measure up to society’s standards—they just happen to be the ones most willing to subject their relationship to public scrutiny. With a lively imagination and a keen understanding of the world in which Austen and her beloved characters lived, Dennis R. Fortier draws from the classic Pride and Prejudice and invites readers to step once more into the world of Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth Bennett and into the life of their winsome daughter, Jayne." from Amazon
Security through Absurdity Book One : Little Yellow Stickies by
INTEREST LEVEL: ADULT
Jocelyn McLaren is a beautiful, hard working, yet naive visual artist who, through a twist of fate, ends up working for a major US defense contractor during the lead up to the Iraq war. She unknowingly witnesses and unwittingly participates in crimes that haunt her and are ultimately interlinked with the most nefarious psychopaths on the planet. Divided into three books, SECURITY THROUGH ABSURDITY is the story of corporate shenanigans, an unstable home life, and a quixotic presidential campaign. These situations propel Jocelyn through a believably bizarre journey and into dangerous psychological territory. In a matrix of life threatening situations, she is forced to question the very fabric of her GenX American upbringing. BOOK ONE: Little Yellow Stickies is the first of the SECURITY THROUGH ABSURDITY series which follows the misadventures and development of the main character, Jocelyn McLaren.
Security through Absurdity Book Two : Bubbles Will Pop by
INTEREST LEVEL: ADULT
Jocelyn McLaren, a former defense contractor, is now a new mother to twins! As she struggles to maintain what she imagines to be a normal family during the economic turmoil of the US housing collapse, she becomes involved in a political campaign and encounters troubling remnants of her life working for the military-industrial complex. These interactions haunt her, as well as the father of her children, and bring her closer to the "dark money" that moves the world. Divided into three books, SECURITY THROUGH ABSURDITY is the story of corporate shenanigans, an uneasy home life, and a quixotic presidential campaign. These situations propel Jocelyn through a believably bizarre journey and into dangerous psychological territory. In a matrix of life-threatening situations, she is forced to question the very fabric of her Gen-X American upbringing. Bubbles Will Pop is the second book in Jocelyn's journey.
Banking on Dreams by
INTEREST LEVEL: ADULT
Lisa Reilly, teller at First National Consumer Bank in Rhode Island, ballroom dancer, and hopeful romantic, is a dreamer. She experiences lucid dreams now and again, and she hopes to harness them, making the plots of her dreams bend to her will. She also has terrible nightmares of being stuck inside the vault at the bank and sometimes dreams of having a boyfriend too. Lisa never really thought she'd be a victim in an actual armed robbery, but when she suddenly finds herself moving toward the vault, trying to survive a real-life bank robbery, her worst nightmares are realized. Will Lisa ever be able to have a lucid dream where she is in control? Will she be able to overcome her bank vault nightmares? Will she survive the real-life robbery?
Mayflower Dreams by
Deep inside the common house, William Bradford coughed and wheezed. His face was as gray as the smoke from the fire. His right hand tried to roll a large barrel of gunpowder toward the door while his left hand pressed against the wall for support. Pieces of smoldering straw fell down from the roof, landing on him and the barrel. Thou art too sick to move that barrel. Let us help thee. Before, during, and after the 1620 voyage on the Mayflower, the Pilgrims experienced a common-house fire, other challenges, and many accomplishments. Their journey is explored by Rose Hopkins when she travels backwards in time and meets her ancestors through Mayflower Dreams. Within her reality and dreams, Rose finds her modern life connects to Pilgrim history and culture. In her reality, Rose has problems living in the present. She is often late and is separated from her husband. She connects to her ancestors as she uses a sampler to look for a watch. Her journey includes visiting Pilgrim Hall Museum, Plymouth Rock, Plimoth Plantation, and the Mayflower II. In her dreams, Rose uses lucid dreaming techniques to create a dream story: she meets many Pilgrims, including John Robinson, the pastor of the Puritans. The Pilgrim history, lifestyle, dialogue, and dreams of religious freedom are realistically displayed within Rose's dream story.
The Glassblower's Apprentice
Internationally acclaimed author Peter Pezzelli returns with a heartfelt tale of life, love, friendship, and second chances... Fabio Terranova is a brilliant dancer. Young, handsome, and enormously talented he is desperate to leave his little hometown in the mountains of central Italy. With dreams of one day making his mark on Broadway and Hollywood, he has made plans to travel to Milan to enter a dance competition he hopes will be his springboard to fame and fortune in America. All is set until the eve of his departure when a night of wild celebration with his friends ends in tragedy. Left broken in body and spirit, his dreams of dancing shattered by the events of that night, Fabio descends into bitter darkness. Fearing for her son, his mother, Liliana, makes a fateful decision. She sends Fabio across the ocean to live with her uncle, Rick Vitale, who runs a small glassmaking operation in a quaint New England village. Rick lives in solitude, his own reasons for abandoning Italy years earlier long shrouded in mystery. He takes Fabio in and sets about teaching him the art of glassblowing. Relentlessly driven, ever laboring by the searing heat of the furnace, Fabio learns to create dazzling works of glass. The endless hours of toil, however, provide him no solace and he remains tormented by the past, a past he can't bear to face. Now, with the days growing short and the darkness of winter closing in, it is up to Rick to show his nephew the way back to the light. But it is a long journey through the deepest chambers of the heart, one that Fabio must ultimately make on his own if he is to learn that the best days of his life may yet lie ahead...
Manisses by
Attracted by the heavenly vistas, cool summer breezes, and affable residents, professional spiritual channelers Clement and Jessica Bradford relocate their family to the coastal island of Manisses to raise their two eccentric daughters in a storybook New England atmosphere -- and talk to the dead.But a foolish mistake from their past haunts them, and when a local girl goes missing, it takes the whole family, including a peculiar doll named Otto, to stop history from repeating itself.Manisses is a rollicking adventure told through a thousand years of history, where you'll meet a brave native maiden, a demure pirate, Prohibition rum-runners, a vengeful witch and many others -- all connected through time by an inconspicuous pile of rocks.
From the ARIA website: "The Association of Rhode Island Authors (ARIA) is a non-profit organization of local, published writers of both fiction and non-fiction committed to raising awareness of the outstanding written works crafted by writers in Rhode Island and other nearby communities."
One of ARIA's goals is to become the go-to resource for anyone "seeking information about and presentations from Rhode Island authors." RILINK is happy to assist ARIA with this goal and is grateful for the donations that ARIA's authors have made to the RILINK ARIA Collection.
For more information about ARIA, please visit their website:
All ARIA-donated books have the following bookplate inside the front cover, so you'll always know which titles are part of the ARIA Collection.
|
|
|
|
Follow us on  |
Contact us  |
Like us on  |
