Skip to Main Content

Rhode Island Library Information Network for Kids: Reading for Everyone

Booklists

Helping multilingual learners –
and their educators – reach their potential

 

  • Unite online library provides free access to more than 400 original picture books, one fourth of them written in Spanish. The digital books provide audio narrations in more than 40 languages, spoken by native speakers in warm, expressive voices. The languages of narration include indigenous and endangered languages along with languages most widely spoken in the US. Our publishing services include the ability for our partners to curate and embed a selection of books on their websites.
  • Check out their video highlighting research that points out the need for access to an abundance of books and acquiring the daily habit of reading for fun as two factors in student achievement that cross the lines of ethnicity and poverty.

 

BILINGUAL & SPANISH ONLINE RESOURCES - Lorén M. Spears, Executive Director of Tomaquag Museum

• The Pura Belpré Award http://www.ala.org/alsc/awardsgrants/bookmedia/belpremedal

• Latinos in Publishing https://latinxinpublishing.com/

• Lee & Low Books https://www.leeandlow.com/

• Arte Público Press https://artepublicopress.com/

• International Latino Books Award https://www.latinobookawards.org/

• Las Musas Books by Latinx Children's Literature Authors  https://www.lasmusasbooks.com/

• Lectorum https://lectorum.com/

• Santilla USA https://www.spanishpublishers.net/

• Penguin Random House https://www.megustaleerenespanol.com/

Project Read - FEED YOUR MIND AND YOUR HEART, funded by a grant from the RI Office of Library and Information Services using funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, is now over and the digital audio books that were acquired for the grant have expired.  The project provided online access to digital audiobooks for K-12 students with limited reading skills and reluctant readers not qualifying for materials and services for the blind and physically handicapped.  It encouraged parents, grandparents, teachers and other community members to share their reading experiences.  The project had limited exposure and success during the grant cycle. In later months RILINK continued the project, attempting to solicit more recommendations from parents, grandparents, teachers and other community members for titles that could be read, shared and discussed by members of both groups through the use of social media, online library collections, and classroom connections.

RILINK has continued purchasing additional digital audio and read-alouds for its shared collection, called BookLynx, greatly expanding the number of titles available and adding titles suggested by its member librarians.  RILINK's shared collection of eBooks and digital audiobooks is moving to a new platform using OverDrive for the 2021-2022 school year, and is changing its name to RISOCKS.

Resources available through RILINK membership

CultureGrams is available at no additional cost to RILINK members.

ProQuest's CultureGrams offers translations from English to Spanish for its articles:

(Click on this sample page to enlarge it)

 

 

 

 

RISOCKS is available at additional cost to all Rhode Island School libraries.  Cost is based on enrollment.

Currently over 70 eBooks in Spanish are available in RISOCKS, Rhode Island K-12 schools shared database for eBooks and audiobooks.  Membership is open to all Rhode Island K-12 schools, with the cost based on enrollment. For oinformation on how to join, see our Guide for RISOCKS and SORA/OverDrive.  Members can request titles and topics to add to RISOCKS using our online form at https://rilink.libwizard.com/f/eBookrequest.  Members can also add eBooks and audiobooks to their own collection, paying for items that are only available to their students and teachers. 

Tumble Book Library

The content in the TumblePremium subscription library is most appropriate for those in grades K-6. It includes animated talking picture books, chapter books, videos, non-fiction titles, graphic novels, playlists, and books in French and Spanish. Language Learning in TumblePremium is an easy way to access French and Spanish titles!  Here are some titles currently available in this subscription:

Capstone's PebbleGo, available at a discount to RILINK members, includes options for K-3 information sources in Spanish.  

 

Resources in Spanish for Students and Teachers

No additional cost to you (your tax dollars at work)

Click here for other resources available through membership in RILINK.

Resources from
World Book Web logo
  • Enciclopedia Estudantil Hallagoz - Grades K and up.  The ideal Spanish-language reference tool for those learning Spanish and ELL students. Browse features provide visual prompts, and bilingual features allow students to toggle between Spanish and English text. The site includes concise articles, videos, maps and activities and more.  Click on the image to enlarge this sample page..

 

  • Banco de Contenidos aulaPlaneta - Grades 5 and up.  Encuentra las respuestas en más de 170.000 recursos. Find answers to your questions in more than 170,000 resources.  Entirely in Spanish, including page directions. Click on this sample page to enlarge it.

World Book also offers translations from English to Spanish.  You'll need to search in English, but then you can translate the article into Spanish by clicking on Tools or the Gear Symbol in the upper right-hand corner in any of these modules.  Choose Translate from the options and pick Spanish.  This is available in these WorldBook modules:  Advanced, Discover, Kids, and Student.

EBSCO Host Logo  A number of EBSCO resources provide the option to choose Espanol from the drop-down list in the Language box in the upper right-hand corner.  The choice of language only includes the directions on the page, not the text for the EBSCO Search modules.

Flipster - offers seven magazines in Spanish, primarily for adults:  HOLA, Parents Latina, National Geographic España, Newsweek en Español, Saber Vivir, People en Español, Mercados y Tendencias.  Click on this sample page from National Geographic España to enlarge it.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Over seventy titles in Spanish are also available in  RISOCKS, Rhode Island schools shared database for eBooks and audiobooks.  Membership is open to all Rhode Island schools, with the cost based on enrollment.  Titles include: